restaurant

Vivant 2

Vivant 2 (Paris)

© Antoine Antoine

  • Date
  • share

Bonsoir, bienvenue! Expect to be greeted like this in deep tenor tones as you walk through the doors of this legendary culinary haven, which has witnessed a succession of the finest Parisian chefs – Sota Atsumi, Pierre Jancou, Pierre Touitou…. If the welcome ceremony hasn’t changed, it’s now up to the Mexican chef Robert Mendoza (ex-Saint Sébastien) to grace the marble bar with his creations. The night we went, served on white tablecloths on the terrace: an airy potato sourdough bread topped with black tahini and chard; La Charron mussels from Charente plunged into a crystal clear aguachile broth, with pickled peppers and smoked paprika; a magnificent steak tartare topped with a beetroot reduction, pickled mustard seeds and a watercress emulsion; whole roasted broccoli placed atop a graceful green mole – made without cocoa but with plenty of cilantro! Or even a pollack fillet prepared in the ikejime style, served with a beurre blanc sauce and a silky cashew purée. One complaint? The Brillat-Savarin served as a mousse with a grapefruit jam, which was quickly forgiven since the chocolate tart with mescal-infused cream was so extraordinary! // Antoine Antoine

FEELING THIRSTY? Twenty-some wines served by the glass (a macerated wine from Alsace produced by Jean-Marc Dreyer at €9, an oxidized Gaillac white from the Domaine Plageoles at €12…), unless you’d rather dig into a wine menu that reaches for the stars – a 2013 Rosdahl, a 2014 Vej, a 2002 Gravner…

PRICE: À la carte €41-60.

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Vivant 2

Vivant 2 (Paris)

© Antoine Antoine

  • Date
  • partager

Bonsoir, bienvenue ! Tel est l’accueil ténorisé pour chaque client·e pénétrant dans cet antre gastronomythique, qui a vu se succéder les plus fines lames parigotes – Sota Atsumi, Pierre Jancou, Pierre Touitou… Si le cérémonial n’a pas changé, c’est au tour du Mexicain Robert Mendoza (ex-Saint Sébastien) d’ambiancer le comptoir marbré. Ce soir-là, galochés sur nappe blanche en terrasse : un pain aérien au levain de pomme de terre, tartiné de tahini noir et drapé de feuilles de blette ; des moules charentaises La Charron plongées dans un bouillon limpide d’aguachile, avec poivron saumuré et paprika fumé ; un magnifique tartare de bœuf, dopé par une réduction de betterave, des pickles de moutarde et une émulsion de cresson ; un brocoli entier rôti, posé sur un gracieux mole vert – sans cacao, mais fort de coriandre ! Ou encore un filet de lieu jaune ikejime au beurre blanc, accompagné d’une purée de noix de cajou cajolante. Un bémol ? Le Brillat-Savarin servi en mousse avec une confiture de pamplemousse, vite rattrapé par un combo tarte choco / crème au mezcal qui fit boum ! // Antoine Antoine

POUR LA SOIF ? Une vingtaine de vins au verre (macération alsacienne de Jean-Marc Dreyer à 9€, blanc oxydatif gaillacois du Domaine Plageoles à 12€…), à moins de piocher dans la carte qui tutoie les cimes – Rosdahl 2013, Vej 2004, Gravner 2002…

LES PRIX : Carte 41-60€.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.