restaurant

Rustique

Rustique (Lyon)

© Romain Herlin

  • Date
  • share

Here’s to a little country magic amid the concrete jungle! After earning his stripes at Loiseau Rive Gauche in Paris, the talented Maxime Laurenson has settled down in the center of Lyon, bringing his chef’s toque and knives in tow. You’ll now find him at a joint called Rustique (exposed stone walls, oak floors, walnut wood tables), where the born-and-bred Auvergne chef elevates rustic cooking with some beautiful, carefully-sourced goods. The night we went, his brilliant eight-course menu included: a few gentle Puy lentil preparations – petit salé, chips and mousse; toasted bread with smoked hay butter; a lovely egg yolk cooked in its shell with a moussey coffee cream and finely ground porcini mushrooms from the Haute-Loire department; Savoyard escargot with hazelnut and broccoli; incredibly tender trout from the Isère River, with a sorrel purée, fermented cabbage, roe and oxalis; delicate dualist pigeon (thighs and breast) dry-aged over hay and then grilled to golden perfection on the BBQ, served with dauphine potatoes, onion purée and giblets, plus an Antésite jus with anise notes; before a stunning dessert composed of almond milk sorbet with apple-quince compote and meadowsweet liqueur, followed by a combo of smoked chocolate / crème caramel with peaty whiskey – the epitome of rusticity! // Adrien Simon

FEELING THIRSTY? There’s a superb regional-naturalist wine collection to explore: a Fleurie from Laura Lardy (€7 a glass), a Roussette-de-Savoie from Nicolas Ferrand (€8), a Côtes-du-Rhône red from the Domaine Gramenon (€43 a bottle), a Savoie blanc from Belluard (€70)…

PRICE: Menu €64.

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Rustique

Une étoile en moins, une star en plus !

Rustique (Lyon)

© Romain Herlin

  • Date
  • partager

Quelques grammes de cambrousse dans un monde de briques ! Après s’être aguerri chez Loiseau Rive Gauche à Paris, le talentueux Maxime Laurenson a posé sa toque et ses couteaux sur la presqu’île lyonnaise. Là, à l’enseigne de Rustique (pierres brutes, parquet en chêne, tables en noyer), cet Auvergnat pur jus anoblit la cuisine paysanne avec une belle came d’origine contrôlée. Ce soir-là, dans le menu en huit temps : gentille déclinaison de lentilles du Puy – en petit salé, chips et mousse ; pain grillé à tartiner de beurre fumé au foin ; génial jaune d’œuf cuit en coquille, crème mousseuse au café et poudre de cèpe de Haute-Loire ; escargots savoyards au cordeau, noisettes et brocolis ; pavé de truite iserane ultra-fondant, purée d’oseille, chou fermenté, œufs de sa mère et oxalis ; délicat pigeon dualiste (cuisses et filet) maturé au foin puis doré au BBQ, pommes dauphine, purées d’oignon et d’abats, le tout réglissé par un jus à l’Antésite ; avant, en desserts ébouriffants, un sorbet au lait d’amande avec une compotée pomme-coing à la liqueur de reine-des-prés, suivi d’un combo chocolat fumé / crème caramel au whisky tourbé, au top de la rusticité ! // Adrien Simon.

POUR LA SOIF ? Superbe cave régionaturaliste : fleurie de Laura Lardy (7 € le verre), roussette-de-savoie de Nicolas Ferrand (8 €), côtes-du-rhône rouge du Domaine Gramenon (51 € la bouteille), savoie blanc de Belluard (70 €)…

LES PRIX : Menu unique 64 € (accord mets-vins + 37 €).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.