restaurant

Placid

  • Date
  • share

Placid seems like nothing special at first: a classic spot for shooting back espressos that respects the norms of the genre (exposed stone walls, Scandi-cool furniture, Edison light bulbs). But in reality, it’s a coffee shop that stands out from the crowd thanks not only to the beans (Placid Roasters) from barista Alex Martins (ex-Mokxa), but also the Asian cuisine by Adrien Fabius, a former graphic designer whose pho soup made with beef broth, rice noodles and a triple dose of black Angus steak (strips of flank steak, cubed shank and meatballs) reinvigorates as much as it satisfies. A real treat, which we paired the other day at lunch with some greasy cassava fries dipped into either homemade sriracha or curry rémoulade, followed by a good slice of pan-fried brioche, with whipped coconut cream and spiced pineapple. Other options served à la carte include banh mi sandwiches, lemongrass chicken curry, chocolate banana bread, etc. // A.S.

FEELING THIRSTY? Espresso (€2), filtered coffee (€4) and a few natural wines – including an Alsatian white from Julien Meyer (€5 a glass) and an Hérault red from Catherine Bernard (€31 a bottle).

PRICE: Pho €16, à la carte €20-31. 

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Placid

  • Date
  • partager

En apparence, rien de stupéfiant : une salle de shots pur arabica respectant les normes du genre – pierres grattées, mobilier scandicool, ampoules nues. Mais un coffee shop qui se distingue de ses congénères grâce, non seulement, au kawa (Placid Roasters) du barista Alex Martins (ex-Mokxa), mais aussi à la popote asiate d’Adrien Fabius, ex-graphiste reconverti, dont le pho à base de bouillon de bœuf garni de nouilles de riz et black angus en triple dose (lamelles de bavette, cubes et boulettes de gîte) revigore autant qu’il délecte. Un kif qu’on accompagna l’autre midi de grassouillettes frites de manioc, à tremper dans une sauce sriracha maison ou une rémoulade au curry, puis d’une bonne grosse tranche de brioche poêlée, avec chantilly coco et ananas frais pimenté. Autres options à la carte : banh mi, curry de poulet à la citronnelle, banana bread au choco, etc. // A.S.

POUR LA SOIF ? Espresso (2 €), café filtre (4 €) et quelques vins nature – dont un blanc alscacien de Julien Meyer (5 € le verre) et un rouge héraultais de Catherine Bernard (31 € la bouteille).

LES PRIX : Pho 16 €, carte 20-31 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.