restaurant

Marchon

Marchon (Paris)

© Pier Gab

  • Date
  • share

No, this isn’t a new liberal political party, but rather a first-rate spot run by self-taught chef and former adman Alexandre Marchon. He wound up flying to new heights by opening this bistro designed by Akira Studio (blonde hardwood floors, terracotta-toned walls, a terrazzo bar…). The day we went for lunch, we enjoyed seasonal fare prepared by a talented hand on the €25 menu: an appetizer of crisp carrots and turnips dancing on a lacto-fermented carrot jus and buffalo milk ricotta – or coco de Paimpol beans with a Battaglione cucumber brunoise and a runny egg yolk; a generous serving of an excellent veal tartare prepared like a bagna càuda (Piedmont’s version of anchoiade) with a side of new potatoes; before a good chocolate rice pudding topped with a cocoa nib tuile. Worth noting: Alex also aims to impress at both lunch and dinner with five- or seven-course tasting menus – eg.: zucchini blossom tempura with a Parmesan emulsion; veal sweetbreads with clams and a jus de viande; matured Haitian chocolate ganache… The highly anticipated chicken and mashed potato lunches on Sunday are also worth trying! // G.LeP.

FEELING THIRSTY? There are 30 natural wines available by the bottle in all four colors: a Savoyard Jacquère from Sylvain Liotard (€7 a glass), a Hérault Carignan from Rémi Poujol (€28 a bottle), a Roussillon rosé from the Cave Apicole (€29), an orange Gewurztraminer from Geschickt (€65)…

PRICE: Set menus €25 and €39 (5 courses), dinner €39, €59 (5 courses) and €79 (7 courses).

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Marchon

Marchon (Paris)

© Pier Gab

  • Date
  • partager

Non, il ne s’agit pas d’un parti politique d’aspiration libérale, mais de la première adresse en dur de l’autodidacte Alexandre Marchon, pubard reconverti. Lequel a fini par déposer ses ailes de cuisinier volant en ouvrant ce bistrot habillé par Akira Studio – parquet blond, murs en terracotta, bar en terrazzo… Pour nous, ce midi-là, dans le menu à 25 €, du saisonnier, quelques approximations et du talent : entrée de carottes et navets bien croquants, patinant sur un jus de carotte lacto-fermenté et de la ricotta de bufflonne – ou cocos de Paimpol, brunoise de concombre battaglione et jaune d’œuf coulant ; top tartare de veau façon bagna cauda (une sorte d’anchoïade piémontaise), servi en quantité pantagruélique, accompagné de pommes grenailles ; avant un bon riz au lait chocolaté, coiffé d’une tuile de grué. Bon à savoir : midi et soir, Alex montre aussi les crocs avec des menus surprises en cinq ou sept temps – ex. : fleur de courgette en tempura, émulsion de parmesan ; ris de veau, coques et jus de viande ; ganache au chocolat haïtien maturé… A tester également, le très attendu poulet-purée du dimanche ! // G.LeP.

POUR LA SOIF ? Une trentaine de quilles nature en quatre couleurs : jacquère savoyarde de Sylvain Liotard (7 € le verre), carignan héraultais de Rémi Poujol (28 € la bouteille), rosé roussillonnais de la Cave Apicole (29 €), gewurztraminer orange de Geschickt (65 €)…

LES PRIX : Menus 25 € et 39 € (midi), 39, 59 et 79 € (soir).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.