restaurant

Le Garet

  • Date
  • share

Broken tile floors, moleskin leather benches, timeworn chairs, a Guignol puppet hanging on the wall, pigs embroidered onto the napkins…. Welcome to Le Garet, an authentic Lyon bouchon opened in 1920, and frequented during the war by Jean Moulin – whose favorite seat is now immortalized by a brass plaque. In the kitchens, you’ll find owner Emmanuel Ferra, known in these parts as “le Gros” (a former commis under Bocuse and a sous-chef at Léon de Lyon), who can never get enough of the Lyonnais classics: saucisson chaud, tablier de sapeur (breaded beef tripe), cervelas sausage, calf’s head, andouillette…. For us, the other evening, the “Gnafron” menu included a classic frisée and mixed green salad with small buttery croutons, lardons and a poached egg; a hearty pike quenelle molded with a (very big) spoon, bathed in a rich Nantua sauce, and served with oven-roasted new potatoes in the pan; a classic cervelle de canut cheese; before an enormous dessert of Mirabelle plums in syrup with vanilla ice cream. // A.S.

FEELING THIRSTY? Natural wines selected by the Troisième Fleuve wine shop: a Beaujolais from Kevin Descombes (€38 a bottle), a Fleurie from Jean-Louis Dutraive (€60)… And even a Morgon from Lapierre available in a jeroboam (€295).

PRICE: Menus €22 (lunch) and €30 (dinner).

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Le Garet

  • Date
  • partager

Sol à cassons, banquettes en moleskine, chaises patinées, Guignol au mur, cochon brodé sur les serviettes… Bienvenue au Garet, authentique bouchon lyonnais depuis 1920, fréquenté durant la guerre par Jean Moulin – dont la place habituelle est signalée par une plaque en laiton. En cuisine, le taulier Emmanuel Ferra, dit « le Gros » (ex-commis chez Bocuse et second chez Léon de Lyon), n’en a jamais fini avec les lyonnaiseries : saucisson chaud, tablier de sapeur (panse de bœuf panée), cervelas, tête de veau, andouillette… Pour nous, l’autre soir, au menu « Gnafron » : canonique salade de frisée, mesclun, petits croûtons passés au beurre, lardons et œuf poché ; quenelle moulée à la (très grosse) cuillère, baignant dans une sauce Nantua sombre et corsée, accompagnée de grenailles au four servies dans un poêlon antédiluvien ; incontournable cervelle de canut; avant une énorme coupe de mirabelles noyées dans leur sirop et flanquées de glace vanille. // A.S.

POUR LA SOIF ? Des vins nature castés à la cave du Troisième Fleuve : beaujolais de Kevin Descombes (38 € la bouteille), fleurie de Jean-Louis Dutraive (60 €)… Et même un morgon des Lapierre en jéroboam (295 €).

LES PRIX : Menus 22 € (midi) et 30 € (soir).

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.