restaurant

Jeu de Quilles

Jeu de Quilles (Lyon)

© Adrien Simon

  • Date
  • share

With a nice restaurant in addition to the rest, this superb wine shop really bowls a strike! In a space with arched ceilings and stone walls, the Besson brothers (Guillaume in the kitchen and Grégoire with the bottle-opener) really nail it. At lunchtime, seated around the enormous communal table or at the cement tile bar, savor some authentic market cooking, like the day we went for lunch: perfectly roasted cod with bresaola, hazelnuts, garlic and parsley, served with crisp pan-fried haricots verts, porcini mushrooms and chanterelles; and a chocolate-obsessed dessert of lava cake, ganache, mousse and crumble. At night, the ambiance changes with tapas-style plates: Ardèche caillette rounds, an exquisite slice of coq en pâte (like a pâté en croûte with foie gras, pistachios, a port-infused stuffing and toasted hazelnuts), an insane cheese platter – aged Gouda, tomme du Jura, blue veined goat cheese, rove de Marseille… // G.V.

FEELING THIRSTY? There’s a large selection of bottles, which are nice even if they are mostly from conventional winemakers. Pop one open there or take to go: a Ventoux from the Domaine Château Campagne Bacchus 2015 (€4 a glass); L’Avallet du Rhône, a Côtes-du-Rhône from Hervé Avallet (€21 a bottle); Silice, a Saint-Joseph white from Pierre and Jérôme Coursodon (€34)…

PRICE: Mains €12-20, desserts €6.50 (lunch), plates €5-25 (dinner). 

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, a tool that allow you to make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Jeu de Quilles

Jeu de Quilles (Lyon)

© Adrien Simon

  • Date
  • partager

Doublée d’une table géniale, cette superbe cave à vins multiplie les strikes ! Dans leur salle voutée et pierrée, les frères Besson (Guillaume aux fourneaux et Grégoire aux goulots) envoient du lourd. A l’heure du déjeuner, autour de l’immense table d’hôte ou au comptoir carrelé de ciment, on se délecte d’une pure cuisine de marché. Comme ce midi-là : parfait cabillaud rôti avec bresaola, noisettes, ail et persil, accompagné d’une poêlée de haricots verts croquants, cèpes et girolles ; avant un dessert chocomaniaque décliné en moelleux, ganache, mousse et crumble. Le soir, changement d’ambiance avec des assiettes façon tapas : rondelettes caillettes ardéchoises, tranche exquise de coq en pâte (comme un pâté en croûte avec foie gras, pistache, farce au porto et noisettes grillées), plateau de fromages dément – vieux gouda, tomme du Jura, bleu de chèvre persillé, rove de Marseille… G.V

POUR LA SOIF ? Large sélection de quilles, plutôt conventionnelles mais sympatoches, à déboucher sur place ou à emporter : ventoux Domaine Château Campagne Bacchus 2015 (4 € le verre), côtes-du- rhône L’Avallet du Rhône d’Hervé Avallet (21 € la bouteille), saint-joseph blanc Silice de Pierre et Jérôme Coursodon (34 €)…

LES PRIX : Plats 12-20 €, desserts 6,50 € (midi), assiettes 5-25 € (soir). 

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.