restaurant

Chez Remise

Chez Remise (Saint-Urcize)

© Chez Remise

  • Date
  • share

Every God-given day we’d perch up on the counter to read the Centre Presse newspaper or look through the superb collection of reels, spoons and artificial flies, before tossing a coin to the owner of this village café frozen in time that’s also a tobacconist, newsagents, hotel and restaurant. As the worthy heirs of a five-generation lineage, it’s now Lucille (in the dining room) and Jocelyn (in the kitchen) who carry on the family tradition. The night we went: a pleasant vegetable velouté served in a soup tureen with, just as ad-lib as ever, croutons, grated Gruyère cheese and a turmeric-spiced whipped cream; juicy pink veal loin with melted herb butter and aligot; before a quivering goat cheese faisselle with homemade seasonal fruit jam. For a little more verve, go towards the end of the week or for the Sunday feast, where you might come across mullet ceviche, veal sweetbreads in a cream sauce, slow-roasted goat shoulder or a pavlova with lemon cream and strawberries, amongst other delicious treats. // G.D.

FEELING THIRSTY? A Marcillac from the Domaine du Cros (€3.50 a glass), a Faugères La Liquière, a sulfite-free ZigZag Côtes-Auvergne from Desprat and a Sancerre white from Fouassier (€22, €20 and €30 a bottle).

PRICE: Set menus €17-22 (lunch), €15-19 (dinner) and €20-28 (Sunday). Rooms starting at €70 a night.

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

restaurant

Chez Remise

Chez Remise (Saint-Urcize)

© Chez Remise

  • Date
  • partager

Tous les jours que Dieu fait bons, on vient s’en jeter un au comptoir de ce café-tabac-presse- hôtel- restaurant de village campé dans l’éternité, en lisant Centre Presse ou mirant la superbe collec’ de moulinets, cuillères, et mouches artificielles. En dignes héritiers de cinq générations, c’est désormais Lucille (en salle) et Jocelyn (en cuisine) qui perpétuent la tradition. Avec, ce soir-là, un paisible velouté de légumes en soupière et, ad lib’ comme jadis, des croûtons, du gruyère râpé et de la crème fouettée au curcuma ; une longe de veau rosée et juteuse, beurre fondu aux herbes, avec aligot ; avant une frétillante faisselle de chèvre et confiote maison aux fruits de saison. Pour plus de verve, visez la fin de semaine ou le banquet dominical, où se croisent, entre autres, ceviche de mulet, ris de veau à la crème, épaule de chevreau confite et pavlova à la crème de citron et fraises. G.D.

POUR LA SOIF ? Marcillac Domaine du Cros (3,50 € le verre), faugères La Liquière, côtes-d’auvergne sans soufre ZigZag de Desprat et sancerre blanc de Fouassier (22, 20 et 30 € la bouteille).

LES PRIX : Formules 17-22 € (midi), 15-19 € (soir) et 20-28 € (dimanche). Chambres à partir de 70 €.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.