bar

Balagan

Balagan (Paris)

© Studio L’Etiquette

  • Date
  • share

Mazel tov! The foodosphere has been all abuzz since June 1st, 2017, because of the opening of this festive spot, located on the ground floor of the Hôtel Paris-Vendôme. Assaf Granit and Uni Navon (who already own MachneYuda in Jerusalem and Palomar in London) have partnered up with the team from Experimental Cocktail Club, and our taste buds are reaping the benefits! In a space decorated by Dorothée Meilichzon (‘60s light fixtures, golden mirrors, electric blue benches) and brought to life with a Tel Aviv inspired playlist, the chefs and waiters in their thirties send out celestial Middle Eastern dishes as the sound level rises: Yemeni brioche bread with silky labneh and an explosive chopped tomato condiment; an erotic bluefin tuna tartare with raw, cooked and sun-dried tomatoes, intensified by flying fish roe (tobiko), pickled peppers and fresh ginger; roasted bass fillet, topped with a spellbinding tahini beurre blanc sauce, plated over pillowy-soft sautéed spinach with garlic, braised fennel and split peas with Persian lemon; and for a more underwhelming desert, we had a slice of watermelon served with feta ice cream, which unfortunately, had already started to melt…. An incredible feast nonetheless, even better with wines from here (€8 for a glass of L’Amouvedre from Comor) or elsewhere (€18 for a glass of Yarden bubbly), judiciously chosen and audaciously priced – or a spirited mocktail like the Green Side, with granny smith apple and cucumber juice, verjus, elderflower and ginger beer. À la carte €39-59. Cocktails €9-15. No set menus. // G.L.P.

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

Balagan

Balagan (Paris)

© Studio L’Etiquette

  • Date
  • partager

Mazel tov ! La foodosphère se bouscule depuis le 1er juin 2017 dans ce joyeux bordel (« Balagan » en yiddish) situé au rez-de-chaussée de l’hôtel Renaissance Paris Vendôme, où le duo Assaf Granit-Uri Navon (proprios de MachneYuda à Jérusalem et The Palomar à Londres) s’est associé à l’équipe de l’Experimental Cocktail Club pour faire la fête à nos papilles. Dans un décor stylisé par Dorothée Meilichzon (applis 60’s, miroirs dorés, banquettes bleu-élec’) et ambiancé par une playlist tel-avivante, une brigade de trentenaires envoie ses orientalités cosmiques à mesure que les décibels grimpent : pain yéménite brioché à tremper dans un labné tout doux, avec un condiment de tomates hachées explosif ; tartare érotique de thon rouge, avec tomates crues, cuites et séchées, le tout fouetté aux œufs de poisson volant (tobiko), poivrons pickles et gingembre frais ; filet de bar rôti, nappé d’un envoûtant beurre blanc au tahini, trônant sous un coussin d’épinards poêlés à l’ail, avec fenouil braisé et pois cassés au citron persan ; et, en finale plus plan-plan, une tranche de pastèque servie avec une glace feta déjà fondue, hélas… Une sacrée teuf à mouiller de vins d’ici (8 € le verre de L’Amourvedre de Jean-Christophe Comor) ou d’ailleurs (18 € le verre de fines bulles Yarden), judicieusement chinés et audacieusement facturés – ou d’un fringant mocktail comme ce Green Side (9 €) mixant granny-smith, concombre, verjus, fleur de sureau et ginger beer. Carte 39-59 €. Cocktails 9-15 €. Pas de menu. // G.L.P.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.