bar

Bar à Gin du Carmen

Bar à Gin du Carmen (Paris)

© Valentin Le Con

  • Date
  • share

Underneath the historic mouldings of the Hôtel Halévy’s old lounges (where Georges Bizet once stayed), gin now has a tonic embassy of its own. Once upon a time reserved only for night owls who could convince the imposing doorman to let them through, nowadays the Bar du Carmen is open to all at apéro time. Between stucco cherubs and crimson corners, there are forty homemade gin infusions lined up on illuminated shelves, awaiting enlightened gin lovers: classic flavors (pepper, lemon, grapefruit) or exotic ones (rosemary, saffron, mate). Have the gin of your choice with tonic water or in a more elaborate concoction, while seated in an empire love seat. The night we went, Rachel improvised a sort of Daiquri for us, with kaffir-lime-infused gin, sugar and lemon juice (€10). But FYI, once the clock strikes midnight, clubbers make their way into the lounges, and it gets a little harder to order anything other than a simple gin and tonic – and the drinks cost roughly €5 more… // A.B.

Do your shopping close by

Grab a bottle to go from somewhere local

Le Fooding’s 2022 Guide is fresh out of the oven!

What’s on the menu this year? A brand-new selection of 200 restaurants, bars and bedrooms across France, articles sprinkled throughout the magazine, the taste of the times distilled down to its purest form in our highly anticipated award’s list and, for the very first time, two new guides to the country’s best stand-out shops and spirited cellars!

2021 Le Fooding guide frontcover
I WANT IT!

About

Le Fooding is a print and digital guide to all the restaurants, chefs, bars, stylish hotels and B&Bs that make up the “taste of the times,” plus an annual awards list for new establishments across France, a series of gastronomic events, tools that allow you to find the best takeaway and delivery options for your neighborhood or make reservations at some fantastic bistros, and an agency specialized in event planning, content production and consulting… In short, something to keep you on your toes at all times!

Fooding® is a registered trademark.

bar

Bar à Gin du Carmen

Bar à Gin du Carmen (Paris)

© Valentin Le Con

  • Date
  • partager

Sous les moulures classées des anciens salons de l’hôtel Halévy où logea Bizet, le gin a campé son ambassade tonique. Autrefois réservé aux noctambules qui réussissaient à convaincre le Cerbère de l’entrée à les laisser passer, le coin bar du Carmen s’ouvre désormais largement dès l’apéro time. Entre angelots en stuc et spots carmins, sur les étagères illuminées, quarante gins infusés maison attendent les amateurs éclairés : classiques (poivre, citron, pamplemousse) ou exotiques (romarin, safran, maté). A déguster en tonic ou en versions plus élaborées sur une causeuse empire. Ce soir-là, Rachel improvisa pour nous une variation sur le thème du daïquiri, avec gin mariné au citron kaffir, sucre et jus de citron (10 €). Mais attention, après minuit, les clubbers débarquent dans les salons, et il devient plus difficile de se faire servir autre chose que du gin-tonic – les verres coûtant par ailleurs 5 € de plus… // A.B.

Le guide Fooding 2022
est sorti du four !

Au menu ? Une sélection inédite de 200 restaurants, bars et chambres partout en France, une partie mag étendue, la crème de la crème du goût de l'époque dans un palmarès très attendu, et, pour la première fois, deux nouveaux guides pour faire le plein de commerces de caractère et caves de soif !

Couverture du guide 2021.
JE LE VEUX !

À propos

Le Fooding est un guide indépendant de restaurants, chambres, bars, caves et commerces qui font et défont le « goût de l’époque ». Mais pas que ! C’est aussi un magazine où food et société s’installent à la même table, un palmarès annuel toujours très attendu, des événements gastronokifs, une agence événementielle, consulting et contenus qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac de courses… Bref, tout pour faire son intéressant !

Fooding® est une marque déposée.